Album art

So yeah, theres just something about album art which I LOVE! well, in some cases yeah.. some of it’s just shit.

After looking through some of my albums, I came across a few which I really like, me being a loser n’all.

1. Yeah first up definitely has to be a Green Day number, Dookie. I LOVE Green Day and I love this album cover, in my own opinion it just screams out COMICS, and CHILD-LIKE! I love it, totally up my street. So much is going on which also means you have to spend time looking at it which is good, because that’s more time admirering its amazingness.. (fully deserving of the made up word)

2. No offence to The Used fans, but not my favourite band in the world.. I love the typography on this album cover. it’s strange, (like myself) and different, and yeah, different always a good thing! The type is simple yet bold enough to make a statement and to me it suggests rough and ready, while added mystery.. The wispy lines give it a enchanted feel I guess which is reinforced by the chair, kind of like Alice in Wonderland, but a bit freakier.  Maybe I’m analysing the type too much, but I don’t care, it’s my blog (smiley face)

3. Number three on my pointless yet fun countdown of great album covers is this beaut by Theory of a Deadman, an album I found stuffed under my bed and only God knows how long it’s been under there for! But after listening to it again, I’ve regained some love for it. So again with the type, it’s kinda western, backing up the colours the albums in, the musty yellows and browns, ya know the cliche of all westerns! The dude with the black wings signifies the album, he’s a deadman, so give the deadman some wings!  Nice rough look, which I strangely seem to like in album covers, probably gives the albums a nice sense of belonging and wear.

4. I’m all for the rough and ready and this Yellowcard album is right up my street, I know it probably isn’t for you, but I like this whole, photography ‘Hey lets fiz it up with some sellotape’ malarki..

That’s enough of the obvious background, bu I also think the yellow is a bold colour to use, and probably a good idea hence the YELLOWcard, but still I think it looks good against that rough background I like so much. The trees.. probably of some place that’s nice and significant to nothing, but still a good idea, and helps reinforce that look I keep mentioning.

So that concludes this thrill ride of album covers chosen by me.


Leave a comment